Are Marshmallows Dairy Free?

If you click and purchase with one of our links, we earn a commission. Thanks.

Marshmallows are delicious. These are a favorite sweet treat for many. Whether you eat them heated up in a S’more or by themselves, they can be a delicious dessert. However, some people need to avoid dairy and it can be tricky to know whether or not they have any in them. After all, a lot of delicious treats sneak some dairy into the mix. Are you safe to eat marshmallows if you are looking to avoid dairy?

The Answer:

Marshmallows are dairy free. Luckily, this sweet treat has no dairy in it. What does a marshmallow consist of? The truth is, the ingredient profile is very basic. A marshmallow is made up of sugar, water, and gelatin. There is no dairy to be found in a marshmallow. Because of this, you can make your marshmallows or buy them from the grocery store even if you are looking to avoid dairy in your diet.

Are Marshmallows Lactose Free

Marshmallows are indeed lactose-free. These delightful confections do not contain any dairy ingredients. Typically, marshmallows are composed of simple elements like sugar, water, and gelatin. This absence of dairy makes them a suitable choice for those seeking to exclude lactose from their diet, allowing you to either make them at home or purchase them from a store without worrying about lactose content.

The Best Way To Enjoy Marshmallows

Smushed In a S'more

This is easily one of the favorite ways to consume marshmallows. Whether you make S’mores at home on the stove or surrounded by friends around a campfire, this is a top way to enjoy some marshmallows on a stick. When you roast a marshmallow, it gets nice and gooey. This makes it the perfect ingredient to smoosh between two graham crackers for a crunchy yet gooey delicious treat. If you are going to eat marshmallows in a S’more, you’ll want to use your favorite chocolate with it. However, you want to ensure you aren’t using milk chocolate if you are aiming to avoid dairy. Luckily, you can find a lot of dairy-free chocolate bars being sold in the marketplace that should make it easier to enjoy S’mores without consuming lactose.

Hot Chocolate

Another excellent way to enjoy marshmallows is as a topping for your hot chocolate. Marshmallows make for a great topping for your hot chocolate because they soak up a lot of the hot chocolate and make the marshmallow even more delicious. However, if you want to avoid dairy, you’ll want to follow a dairy-free hot chocolate recipe.

Rice Krispie Treats

This is another excellent way to enjoy some marshmallows. However, in rice Krispie treats, the marshmallow acts more as a filler ingredient to hold everything together. Regardless, it’s a great way to enjoy the sticky marshmallow experience.

Chocolate Dipped Marshmallows

This is another excellent way to enjoy marshmallows by enhancing their flavor. Marshmallows by themselves can be rather plain. However, when you mix it with chocolate, it can add another element to the mix to make it much more enjoyable. If you are going to be making chocolate coating, you want to be certain you are using a chocolate mix that doesn’t contain dairy.

As you can tell, marshmallows are 100% dairy-free. While you may have to avoid a lot of delicious foods and deserts if you want to avoid eating dairy, marshmallows aren’t one of them. Feel free to munch on some marshmallows even if you are following a lactose-free diet.